2000 reviews

A collection of short reviews from James Porter.

Browse the reviews

Progress

I have written 321 reviews.

Latest

Here are my latest reviews.

PRISM_ (iOS)

17/04/2016, Game

Incredible puzzle game; innovative use of multitouch, beautiful graphics with an amazingly tactile experience and genuinely interesting, 3D spatial manipulation puzzles.

Classic

Daredevil (Season 2)

16/04/2016, TV

While there are quite a few scenes where my reaction was roughly "sigh, Daredevil is again clearly going to non-lethally beat the shit out a bunch of interchangeable bad guys"; the major new characters and interesting stories keep it moving. Perhaps would have been better as 10 episodes, but still great stuff. The sustained intensity of this season is incredible and definitely one to watch.

Great

Nightcrawler

16/04/2016, Film

Dark thriller following freelance crime cameraman chasing 'newsworthy' crime footage in LA, a cynical news editor and a hapless assistant. Really impressive.

Great

Firewatch

15/03/2016, Game

Interesting game in a beautiful, remote US National park. You are part of "Firewatch", left almost entirely alone for summer. Strange things happen and a powerful story is uncovered. (I'm trying not to ruin things.) Definitely one to experience.

Great

Everybody's Gone to the Rapture

15/03/2016, Game

Difficult to review: on the one hand this is an incredible, beautiful audiovisual experience; on the other hand there is no real game, just a (very) slow paced walk around an almost entirely un-interactive village where glowing lights reveal what has happened (everyone is missing). On balance one to avoid, which is a pity as there are some interesting ideas and incredible aesthetics here.

Good

Making a Murder

14/03/2016, TV

Powerful TV series following exonerated rape convict as, as he looks to be winning a civil case against those who arrested him, is arrested for murder. The series paints a convincing picture of corrupt police and manipulation of a child. (though apparently it leaves out some key evidence). Definitely one to watch.

Classic

Slow West

14/03/2016, Film

Dark, clever western film, with clueless Scottish boy searching for his lost love, guided by mysterious bounty hunter (whose target is actually the love's father). Definitely worth watching.

Great

Circle

14/03/2016, Film

Every two minutes a stranger from a the "circle" is killed, after a vote from the others on who to kill. Interesting, dark film.

Good

Lone Survivor

14/03/2016, Film

A small team of Americans are massively out numbered and gradually worn down by dozens of heavily armed Taliban fighters. Utterly ridiculous in places as the Americans get shot repeatedly (in slow motion, blood filled shots) then continue picking off their targets. Compulsive, but something like Kajaki is way more credible.

Good

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword of Destiny

14/03/2016, Film

Netflix make a sequel to the classic Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. Enjoyable, recreates the fighting style of the original as well as some of the same spirit. A more straightforward martial arts film, but with many beautiful scenes and plenty of energy.

Good

House of Cards (Season 4)

14/03/2016, TV

Another enthralling, dark season with plenty of twists and shocks. Watched the entire thing over a (long) weekend... definitely one to put at the top of your Netflix list.

Classic

Halo: The Fall of Reach

14/03/2016, Film

Okay, CG animated film with some Halo backstory.

Okay

About

I set up this little website to track the books I've read, films I've seen, music I've listened to and so on. Uses Google App Engine and Bootstrap.

My other websites

You can see the main website for me, James Porter, or my Android website, Amimetic Android Apps.

Your Own Review Site, or Blog, or...

This project is available on Github. In just 200 or so lines of Python it has a review editing system, bulk data export, homepage, category views and secure accounts. Thanks to using App Engine it should be free or cheap to deploy (and even caches lots of stuff).

If you wanted to make a simple blog it would be straightforward to adapt this. There is a guide on the Github repo page. It is available under the MIT license so you can pretty much do anything you like with it.